حصى اللّوزتين: كيف يمكن لها أن تسبّب رائحة الفم الكريهة؟

tonsil stone

ما هي حصى اللّوزتين؟

اللّوزتان عبارة عن قطع صغيرة من الأنسجة بيضاويّة الشّكل تستقرّ في مؤخّرة الحلق، وهي جزء من جهاز مناعتك. تساعد اللّوزتين على حمايتك من العدوى عن طريق تصفية البكتيريا والفيروسات الّتي تدخل الجسم عن طريق الفم. حصى اللّوزتين عبارة عن كتل صلبة صغيرة تتطوّر في اللّوزتين، ويمكن أن تنتج رائحة الفم الكريهة. وهي بشكل عام غير مؤلمة وغير ضارّة. تعرف حصى اللّوزتين أيضًا باسم التهاب اللّوزتين. عادةً ما تكون حصوات اللّوزتين صغيرة الحجم وأشبه بالحصى الصّفراء أو البيضاء. في معظم الحالات، يمكنك علاج حصى اللّوزتين في المنزل، ولكنها قد تحتاج إلى عمليّة جراحيّة لإزالتها في بعض الحالات، خاصة إذا استمرّت حصى اللّوزتين في الظهور مرّات عديدة .

ما الذي يسبّب حصى اللّوزتين؟

يمكن أن تنتج حصى اللّوزتين من جزيئات الطّعام والمخاط والخلايا الميتة والبكتيريا المحصورة في جيوب صغيرة تستقرّ على اللّوزتين بسبب عدم نظافة الفم. عندما يتراكم هذا الحطام ويتصلّب أو يتكلّس، يمكن أن تبدأ حصى اللّوزتين في التّكوّن وقد تسبّب ألمًا أو تورّمًا. تحدث مثل هذه المضاعفات بشكل رئيسيّ لأولئك الّذين يعانون من التهاب اللّوزتين طويل الأمد (التهاب اللّوزتين المزمن) ويصابون باِلتهاب اللّوزتين أكثر من المعتاد. تشمل الأسباب المحتملة الأخرى سوء نظافة الأسنان، وتضخّم اللّوزتين، ومشاكل الجيوب الأنفيّة المزمنة .

أعراض اِلتهاب اللّوزتين

غالبًا ما لا يميّز النّاس اِلتهاب اللّوزتين من الإصابة بنزلة برد أو أنفلونزا شديدة تسبّب اِلتهاب اللّوزتين. فيما يلي بعض الأعراض الرّئيسة لاِلتهاب اللّوزتين عند الأطفال والبالغين :

  1. وجود اِلتهاب في الحلق.
  2. مواجهة صعوبة في البلع.
  3. السّعال والصّداع.
  4. الإرهاق والتّعب.
  5. ارتفاع درجة الحرارة فوق 38 درجة مئويّة.
  6. وجع الأذن.
  7. رائحة الفم الكريهة.
  8. بقع بيضاء مليئة بالصّديد على اللّوزتين.
  9. تورّم مؤلم في الغدد.

في حين أن حصى اللّوزتين ليست معدية، إلا أنّها عادةً ما تكون ناتجة عن عدوى معدية مثل البرد أو الإنفلونزا. وبالتالي، يوصى باتّباع ممارسات النّظافة القياسيّة لمنع انتشار العدوى عندما تشعر بأي عارض من الأعراض المذكورة أعلاه³.

علاج حصى اللّوزتين

على الرّغم من أنّ حصى اللّوزتين يمكن أن تكون غير ضارّة، إلا أنّها قد تسبّب عدم الرّاحة بالإضافة إلى رائحة الفم الكريهة والتهيّجات الأخرى في كثير من الحالات. كما أن حصى اللّوزتين الكبيرة يمكن أن تلحق الضّرر بأنسجة اللّوزتين الطبيعيّة، ممّا يؤدّي إلى تورّم شديد واِلتهاب وعدوى. فيما يلي بعض الأساليب الّتي يمكن الاستعانة بها للتّعامل مع حصى اللّوزتين أو إزالتها إذا لزم الأمر1:

  • يمكن للغرغرة بالماء المالحة أن تساعد الحلق على التّحسّن وعلى التّخلص من حصى اللّوزتين. يمكن أن تساعدك أيضًا على التّخلص من رائحة الفم الكريهة أو أي طعم كريه مرتبط باِلتهاب اللّوزتين.
  • يمكن للأدوية مثل المضادات الحيويّة الّتي يصفها مقدّم الرّعاية الصحيّة أن تعالج حصى اللّوزتين. في حين لا تعالج السّبب الكامن وراء حصى اللّوزتين، إلّا أنها تساعد في الحالات التي تتطوّر فيها عدوى بكتيريّة.
  • الاستئصال الجراحيّ لحصى اللّوزتين هو طريقة علاج أخرى يمكن اتّباعها إذا كانت الأعراض مزعجة للغاية. قد يحيلك طبيبك العام إلى أخصائيّ أنف وأذن وحنجرة لمناقشة الخيارات الجراحيّة المتاحة وفقًا لحالتك. يوصى بإزالة حصى اللّوزتين في حالات مثل حصى اللّوزتين الكبيرة والألم الشّديد واِلتهاب الحلق المتكرّر أو اِلتهابات اللّوزتين.
  • استئصال اللّوزتين يعني إزالة اللّوزتين تمامًا، ومن الضّروريّ إذا استمر حصول حصى اللّوزتين وتسبّب عدوى متكرّرة. لاحظ أنّ إزالة اللّوزتين لا يؤثر على جهاز المناعة لديك.
  • تحلّل الشّفرات هي عمليّة يستخدم فيه الأطبّاء المهنيّون اللّيزر أو عصا التّردّدات الراديويّة لتندّب اللّوزتين وتقليل حصى اللّوزتين المحتملة.

الحدّ من حصى اللّوزتين

أفضل طريقة للوقاية من حصى اللّوزتين والعديد من مشاكل صحّة الفم الأخرى بما في ذلك رائحة الفم الكريهة هي اتّباع نظافة الفم المناسبة لحمايته من البكتيريا وتجنّب تراكم الطّعام. فيما يلي بعض النّصائح المتعلّقة بصحّة الفم لمساعدتك على الحفاظ على روتين النّظافة الجيّدة :

  1. اغسل أسنانك بالفرشاة جيداً مرّتين يوميًّا أو بعد كلّ وجبة.
  2. مرّر خيط تنظيف الأسنان يوميًّا لإزالة البلاك ومنع تراكم جزيئات الطّعام.
  3. اغشل فمك بانتظام باستخدام غسول الفم، فاستخدام غسول الفم الخالي من الكحول برفق يساعد على قتل البكتيريا وتفكيك حصى اللّوزتين.
  4. نظّف لسانك بانتظام باستخدام الفرشاة أو الكشط.
  5. تجنّب التّدخين أو تناول أيّ من منتجات التّبغ.
  6. اشرب الكثير من الماء.
  7. قم بزيارة طبيب أسنانك كلّ ستّة أشهر لإجراء الفحوصات الدّوريّة

مضاعفات حصى اللّوزتين

حصى اللّوزتين هو أمر شائع ومن المعروف أنّها تنتج رائحة كريهة للفم. ومع ذلك، فإنّ تطوّر حصى اللّوزتين الكبيرة أمر نادر الحدوث، مع الإبلاغ عن حالات قليلة فقط. تعتبر حصى اللّوزتين الكبيرة من المضاعفات التي تتطلّب اهتمامًا فوريًّا. يمكن أن تسبّب حصى اللّوزتين كبيرة الحجم صعوبة في التّنفس، ويمكن أن تتطلّب إزالة الحجارة الاختياريّة واستئصال اللّوزتين.

لمضاعفات اِلتهاب اللّوزتين شكل آخر يكمن في تطوير جيب مليئة بالصّديد (المعروف باسم خراج) بين اللّوزتين وجدار الحلق. إذا كان لديك أيّ من هذه الأعراض، يجب أن تحصل على عناية طبيّة فوريّة³:

  1. تفاقم اِلتهاب الحلق الشّديد.
  2. انتفاخ داخل الفم والحلق.
  3. صعوبة الكلام أو التّنفس أو البلع.
  4. صعوبة فتح الفم.

المراجع:

Tonsil Stones: How Can They Cause Bad Breath?

tonsil stone

What are tonsil stones?

The tonsils are small oval-shaped bits of tissue at the back of the throat and are part of your immune system. They help protect you from infections by filtering bacteria and viruses that enter the body through the mouth. Tonsil stones are little hard lumps that develop in the tonsils and can produce bad breath. They are generally painless and harmless and are also referred to as tonsillitis. Tonsil stones are usually small and can look like yellow or white pebbles. In most cases, you can treat tonsil stones at home, but they may need a surgical procedure to remove the tonsils in some cases, especially if tonsil stones keep reappearing.¹

What causes tonsil stones?

Tonsil stones can result from food particles, mucus, dead cells, and bacteria trapped in small pockets on your tonsils due to improper oral hygiene. When this debris builds up and then hardens or calcifies, tonsil stones can start to form and cause soreness or swelling. Such complications happen mainly to those who have long-term tonsils inflammation (chronic tonsillitis) and get tonsillitis more often than normal. Other potential causes include poor dental hygiene, having large tonsils and chronic sinus issues.²

Symptoms of tonsillitis

People often confuse tonsillitis with having a cold or severe flu that causes tonsils inflammation. Here are some of the main symptoms of tonsillitis in children and adults:³

  1. Having a sore throat.
  2. Facing difficulty swallowing.
  3. Coughing and headache.
  4. Exhaustion and tiredness.
  5. High temperature above 38C.
  6. Earache.
  7. Bad breath.
  8. White pus-filled spots on the tonsils.
  9. Painful swollen glands.

While tonsil stones are not contagious, it is usually the result of an infection that is contagious; like a cold or flu. Hence, it is recommended to follow standard hygienic practices to stop infections from spreading when you feel any of the symptoms mentioned above.³

Tonsil stones treatment

Even though tonsil stones can be harmless, they can cause discomfort, bad breath, and other irritations in many cases. Also, large tonsil stones can damage normal tonsil tissue, leading to severe swelling, inflammation and infection. Here are some of the ways one can deal with tonsil stones or remove tonsil stones if necessary:¹

  • Gargling with salt water can help your throat feel better and dislodge tonsil stones. It can also help you get rid of bad breath or any foul taste associated with tonsillitis.
  • Medications like antibiotics prescribed by your healthcare provider can treat tonsil stones; while they don’t treat the underlying cause of tonsil stones, they help in cases that develop a bacterial infection.
  • Tonsil stones surgical removal is another treatment method if symptoms are too disturbing. Your GP may refer you to an ENT, an ear, nose and throat specialist to discuss the surgical options available depending on your case. Tonsil stone removal is recommended in cases like large tonsil stones, severe pain and recurrent sore throats or tonsil infections.
  • Tonsillectomy means having your tonsils removed completely, and it is necessary if tonsil stones keep coming back and are causing repeated infections. Note that removing the tonsils does not affect your immune system.
  • Cryptolysis is a procedure in which medical professionals use a laser or a radiofrequency wand to scar your tonsils and reduce potential tonsil stones.

Prevention of tonsil stones

The best way to prevent tonsil stones and many other oral health issues including bad breath is by following proper oral hygiene to protect your mouth from bacteria and avoid food buildup. Here are some oral health tips to help you maintain good hygiene routine: 

  1. Brush your teeth thoroughly two times a day or after every meal.
  2. Floss daily between the teeth to remove dental plaque and prevent food particles buildup.
  3. Rinse regularly using a mouthwash, gently swishing alcohol-free mouthwash around your mouth helps kill bacteria and loosen tonsil stones.
  4. Clean your tongue regularly by brushing or scraping it.
  5. Avoid smoking or using any tobacco products.
  6. Drink plenty of water.
  7. Visit your dentist every 6 months for a regular checkup.

Complications of tonsil stones

Tonsillar stones are common findings and are a known cause of bad breath (halitosis). However, the development of large tonsillar stones is rare, with only a few cases reported. A large tonsil stone is considered a complication that needs immediate attention. A large-sized tonsil stone can cause difficulty breathing and can require elective stone removal and tonsillectomy. Another form of tonsillitis complication is developing a pocket filled with pus (known as an abscess) between the tonsils and the wall of your throat. If you have any of these symptoms, get immediate medical attention:³ 

  1. Worsening severe sore throat.
  2. Swelling inside the mouth and throat.
  3. Difficulty speaking, breathing or swallowing.
  4. Difficulty opening your mouth.

References:

  1. https://www.healthdirect.gov.au/tonsil-stones

  2. https://health.clevelandclinic.org/troublesome-tonsil-stones-causing-bad-breath/

  3. https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/tonsillitis/

  4. https://www.cdc.gov/oralhealth/basics/adult-oral-health/tips.html

  5. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5938656/